Nina A. Mayr

University of Washington


Dr. Nina A. Mayr is endowed Professor of Radiation Oncology at the University of Washington School of Medicine.  She joined the University of Washington in 2013 after establishing the Department of Radiation Medicine at the Ohio State University and serving as its inaugural Chair, and previously was the Director of Radiation Oncology and Professor & Vice Chair of Radiological Sciences at the University of Oklahoma (OU), where she built OU’s new radiation oncology facility. 

Dr. Mayr has specialized in tumor imaging, women’s cancers, lung cancer, neuro-oncology and advanced radiation therapy technologies.   For her research she has been awarded two NIH R01 grants for the study of functional/molecular imaging as a predictor of cancer treatment outcome, and she has been co-investigator on numerous other awards.  Her work has focused on image-guided treatment delivery, leveraging advanced imaging for therapy planning, adaptive therapy and response assessment, and on advanced radiotherapy technologies, such as stereotactic radiotherapy, radiosurgery, and spatially fractionated radiation therapy.  

She has published over 200 scientific articles, 13 book chapters, co-edited 2 books, and made over 200 scientific presentations and 134 invited lectures and presentations.   She has served as NIH reviewer of the U.S. National Institutes of Health/National Cancer Institute, and in numerous capacities in professional societies in her field, including the Chair of the Funding and Advocacy Committee of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO), Chair of International Education of ASTRO. She served as Chair of the Subcommittee for Radiation Oncology & Radiobiology of the Scientific Program Committee of the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA, Co-Director of the Instructional Education Course Track in Radiation Oncology), ACR appropriateness criteria and ACSO guideline panels.  In the American College of Radiology (ACR), she serves as a member of the Human Resources Commission. She is Co-Chair of the multi-national RSS GRID/Lattice, Microbeam and Flash Radiotherapy Clinical Working Group.

Dr. Mayr has been awarded the elected Fellowship by ASTRO in 2011 and has been an Elected Fellow of the American Association of the Advancement of Science (AAAS) since 2006 for her work in advanced imaging and women’s cancers.  She received the Alice Ettinger Award of the American Association for Women Radiologists (AAWR) in 2013, the American Board of Radiology Lifetime Service Award in 2015, and the Fellow of AAWR award in 2019 to recognize her contributions to Radiation Oncology education, mentorship and research.